Free Full Download Games Softwares Graphics Movies And Music

Twistys Download » Music » Thad Jones - The Complete Blue Note UA Roulette Recordings Of Thad Jones (1997)
Home Applications
Games Movies
Music TV Shows
Graphics Forums
RSS Sitemap
Watch Online Movies
Advanced Search
Last News
Full Download
Nulled Script Download
Torrent Download

Search In Site

Music : Thad Jones - The Complete Blue Note UA Roulette Recordings Of Thad Jones (1997)

Thad Jones - The Complete Blue Note UA Roulette Recordings Of Thad Jones (1997)

Thad Jones - The Complete Blue Note UA Roulette Recordings Of Thad Jones (1997)
Genre: Jazz, Hard Bop, Trumpet | Label: Mosaic Records | 3CD | MP3 320 kbps | 440 MB

The Complete Blue Note/UA/Roulette Recordings of Thad Jones is a wonderful limited-edition three-disc box set, containing everything the trumpeter recorded for the labels in the late '50s. Jones was a fantastic hard bop trumpeter, and the set captures him in all of his glory, making it of interest to serious hard bop connoisseurs.
With the greatest justification, Thad Jones is remembered as a giant among composers and arrangers of the second half of the century. As co-leader and director of the Thad Jones-Mel Lewis Orchestra, he was an imposing and magnetic figure. But there was much more to Jones.
Before he started devoting most of his time and energy to writing and leadership he was unique among trumpet players of the 1950s-and since-for his power, fluidity and harmonic originality. His qualities as a composer and an improviser were inextricably intermeshed. He avoided the obvious; his compositions were as unusual as his choices of notes in a solo. Long before he left Detroit to join Count Basie in New York in 1954, he was a writer with deeply personal traits. His ingenuity as a composer/arranger and a player is on extensive and satisfying display in this Mosaic box.
Some of Jones' charts on his first Blue Note session date from the early '50s, when he was with Billy Mitchell at the Blue Bird in Detroit. His writing and playing on pieces like "Zec," "Scratch" and his unusual arrangement of "Blue Room" show that he had long since harnessed his imagination, wisdom and resourcefulness. Those qualities intensified over the next three decades. His harmonic knowledge rivaled the chordal acumen of Fats Navarro. His tone was as personal a hallmark as Miles Davis' or Kenny Dorham's. In fluency, he was in the same league as Dizzy Gillespie. The unconventional intervals and wry humor that permeated his writing were also abundant in his playing. There are more than three hours of his brilliance here, and it may startle those who remember him only for occasional solos in the Thad Jones-Mel Lewis Orchestra.
The collection begins in the spring of 1956. It ends four years later when Jones was still with Basie but becoming increasingly driven to develop his own outlet. The core of musicians in his sessions consisted of other members of the Detroit jazz community who had moved to New York: His brothers Elvin and Hank, tenor saxophonist Billy Mitchell, pianists Tommy Flanagan and Barry Harris, guitarist Kenny Burrell, bassist Paul Chambers. Other players included Percy Heath, Max Roach, George Duvivier, Gigi Gryce, Benny Powell, Oscar Pettiford, Al Grey, Richard Davis, Shadow Wilson, Osie Johnson-a cross section of the decade's elite.
Mitchell and Flanagan are on all but a few of the 27 tracks. Some of Mitchell's best work on record is here, a reminder that this constantly improving tenor man has never received the recognition he deserves. Flanagan is superb throughout. Like Hank and Thad Jones, he seems to have emerged from Detroit fully developed and kept growing within his style. Elvin Jones, on the other hand, was evolving his approach. In the 1959 United Artists date, you can hear him edging toward the polyrhythms that would be so important to John Coltrane.
As for the leader, his playing is on a high plane from beginning to end. His creative musical thinking, passion of expression and clarity of execution are remarkable. I hear only one outright wrong note choice or mistake by him in the three CDs (in the final chorus of "I've Got A Crush On You") and a miniscule percentage of the fluffs and near misses that any player experiences in the course of spontaneous creation. Few improvisers who take Jones' kind of risks could match that consistency.
During the last 20 years of his life Thad Jones relegated his playing to second or third place behind his writing and band leading. His soloing could be as magnificent as ever, but several of his colleagues use the same phrase, "like pulling teeth," when they talk about what it took to get him to pick up his horn. For a long time before his interest shifted, however, he was one of the most original trumpet soloists of his generation. The evidence is here.

Track List:

01. Tariff
02. Blue Room
03. Little Girl Blue
04. Scratch
05. Zec
06. Something To Remember You By
07. Thedia
08. April In Paris
09. I've Got A Crush On You
01. Billie Doo
02. If I Love Again
03. If Someone Had Told Me
04. Slipped Again
05. Going Off Stage
06. Let's
07. Ill Winds
08. Thadrack
01. Let's Play One
02. Minor On Top
03. Like Old Times
04. No Refill
05. Subtle Rebuttal (alt tk)
06. Subtle Rebuttal
07. Tip Toe (alt tk)
08. Tip Toe
09. H & T Blues
10. Friday The 13th

Download links:





Thad Jones - The Complete Blue Note UA Roulette Recordings Of Thad Jones (1997) Fast Download

Dear visitor, you went to the site as an unregistered user. We encourage you to register or enter the site under your name.
 (Votes #: 0)

This site does not store any file on its server.
If you have any doubts about legality of content or you have another suspicions, feel free to Contact US.